top of page

Adopting a Plant-Based Diet Changed Our Worldview: Sarah,Connie and Kenny

Updated: Jun 13, 2020

Sabahans of all ages and cultural backgrounds are actively coming together to create a community-wide change to elevate current environmental crisis through technological innovation and alternative product manufacturing techniques.


Sarah, Connie and Kenny in particular, are doing it using plant-based food in practical ways to encourage their family and friends to rethink the hidden costs of each meal, and how supporting animal agriculture impacts the environment, as well animal and workers welfare. We met on Telegram to discuss how adopting a plant-based diet changed their worldview and purchasing decisions.

What were your motivations for going plant-based? Was there something in particular that inspired you to make the change?

Sarah: It was during Ramadan of 2019 when I transitioned to a plant-based diet, I was walking around bazaar Ramadan at my college and saw that all the food choices were mainly chicken and beef, there were many tents and I thought to myself, “How many animals had to die to supply the vendors?” and thinking about all the animals that were tortured and sold for food disgusted me, so it drove me to eat food that didn't come from cruelty.


Connie: At first it was just a "do it with my friend" kind of thing but then things started to get more personal. After reading and watching documentary films on the food industry that involve animal products and human labor force, I realized how unfair it is for humans to kill other lives just to fulfill their desire and big companies taking advantage from employees who work overtime but get underpaid salaries.


Kenny: I have always been a stern believer in justice and compassion. As an animal lover, I have always questioned myself as to why I say I love animals and yet I consume them for food. I felt hypocritical for doing so and this internal conflict finally made me realize that in order to align with my values, I had to make a change. I started eliminating foods that come from animals and their byproducts. Honestly I have never felt better ever since the switch to a plant-based diet. This lifestyle change has also helped me a lot in terms of my mental and physical well-being. But ultimately, my transformation into a plant-based lifestyle focuses on 3 areas, the animals, environment and my health.


Many employers knowingly hire undocumented workers to meet the extremely high turnover rate of the industry. There are also instances where employers create fake social security cards for their workers. Undocumented workers are at risk of deportation–either by their employer or by federal raids. –Workplace Safety and Health: Safety in the Meat and Poultry Industry, while Improving, Could Be Further Strengthened.

What have you struggled with since going plant-based and what have you found easier than you expected? Were there any moments of expectations vs. reality?

Sarah: I struggled mostly during family dinners, since I am the only one following a plant based diet. Trying to convince my mom that I won't eat meat was also a little difficult because she was worried about malnutrition. Eating at the school canteen was also a hit or miss since everything had either egg or chicken. What I liked about excluding animal protein from my diet was I spend less money on food when I go out, and it has motivated me to also prepare my own food from home. I expected that I would be having difficulties with grocery shopping but I actually found it entertaining to read food ingredients before buying them, it made me more aware of what I put into my body.


Connie: For your information, I live by myself since November 2019 and I love to shop at my friendly neighborhood pasar mini on my off days. So meal preparation is not a big deal for me with my natural cooking skill. Ah yes, expectation vs. reality. Okay, when I first switched to a plant-based diet, I expected that I would need to learn new vegan recipes. But the reality is, I just need to substitute dead animals in my food with plant-based protein like tempeh and tofu.


Kenny: At the beginning, I was struggling to find the balance to eat a well-planned and nutritious meal. To make sure I get an adequate amount of nutrition, I did some research on what I should eat to get what my body needs everyday. This was also a perfect opportunity for me to rediscover my knowledge of foods and my relationship with food. I have binge eating disorder and since adopting a plant-based diet, I have established a new and healthier relationship with food. I thought it was going to be harder but really it all comes to your mindset and your determination to eat compassionately.



Did you find the reaction of your family and friends to your going plant-based largely positive?

Sarah: My family had lots of negative remarks towards my lifestyle transitioning since they aren't as exposed to veganism and plant-based diet, it also didn't help that I'm still quite young so whatever I say is easily brushed off. My friends however were very accepting and optimistic about it. They found it admirable I was trying to change the world for the better, one meal at a time.


Connie: I haven't come out to people about my plant-based diet. Only family members and friends who are close to me know about it. And most of them give really positive feedback about it. My mom is really supportive about it. She always makes sure there are enough vegetables for me at home. If not, she will go to the wet market then stock up my tofu and tempeh. I'm really grateful for that.


Kenny: My transition was quite alright–my family wasn't really particularly bothered by my choice but I did briefly explain to them why I decided to make the switch. They may not fully understand my purpose yet but they decided to respect my choice. My friends on the other hand were very supportive and I'm not gonna lie, I do sometimes promote the plant-based diet to my friends just because I feel so good about it and I feel whole most of the time, my mood has improved a lot too from the result of this change. I want my friends to experience the same thing and feel good about themselves.


Has going plant-based given you some kind of purpose or direction in life that you feel is valuable?

Sarah: Going plant-based has definitely shifted how I view the world, I am now more conscious of consumerism, highly polluting industry practices like textile and animal agriculture, forced laborers and the inequalities they experience. I've started to support local brands that I know and trust instead of corporations that breach their worker's rights.


Connie: Eating cruelty-free was one of the biggest decisions I've ever made in my life, and I will never regret it. It taught me to always be grateful, and to do something to help the earth and at the very least, myself.


Kenny: I am more aware of the foods I consume and what I put in my body. I have also developed a habit of reading packaged food labels which is a good thing, you never know what you put in your body when you don't read food ingredients! My views on foods and the food-supply chain changed completely along with it. If you are conscious of what you eat, you will be more in-tune with your body.


1.7 million tonnes of various chemicals are used by the textile industry along with other hazardous chemicals like PFCs that are released into waterways in manufacturing countries. –Fast Fashion is “Drowning” the World, Greenpeace

Do you feel that your plant-based diet is expensive and/or time-consuming?

Sarah: It isn't expensive per se, whole foods usually cost much less than meat and dairy, but processed plant-based foods like ice cream tend to be thrice the price of dairy ice cream. I do find that it's much more fun to make your own nice-cream at home, it feels more fulfilling. Definitely time-consuming but that's the fun of it.


Connie: Personally, I don't think it's expensive if you purchase whole foods. I like to eat my pasta with Parmesan cheese so I make my own at home instead of buying commercial and overpriced Parmesan cheese that I can't afford. Yes, it's time-consuming but I don't want any dead bodies in my food and it's all worth it.



Kenny: I don't find my plant based diet expensive at all, in fact I spend less money on food these days because vegetables are more affordable and I am able to plan and sustain my budget more carefully since switching to a plant-based diet. Preparing my foods doesn't consume time like it used to because plants cook faster and they are easier to prepare too! Not so much of a bloody mess in the kitchen anymore.






Has it been difficult maintaining your plant-based diet throughout the ongoing quarantine? Do you have any tips for those who may be looking for ways to simplify their grocery shopping at this time?

Sarah: I am grateful to be privileged enough to say that my daily food intake has not deviated much since the beginning of the Controlled Movement Order (MCO), though one thing's for sure is that I put more consideration as to how much food I really need. Therefore, whenever it's time to go out for groceries, there is careful calculation of what items need to be bought to save cost and also to ensure that there is enough resources for others who need it more. For you readers that are still including meat in your meals, i suggest simply cutting out the meat and have your meal as it is. You would be surprised how you can easily replace meat with mushrooms, tofu and tempeh.


Connie: No. It was not hard because I always buy sturdy vegetables that can last longer and I make vegetable broth with most of my leftover greens. I have also grown taugeh (sprouted peas)! No waste, more happy tummies!


Kenny: I didn't have a problem with maintaining my plant-based diet during the partial lockdown. Vegetables, fruits and legumes are readily available in the markets. But I would like to add that I am privileged enough to be able to buy and consume foods during these times. Plan for your shopping list before you go out, this will help you monitor the amount of foods you will need for the next time you go shopping and it also helps with budgeting. Remember to reduce your food waste, don't buy if you won't eat it.



Plant-based food is growing in popularity not only in the Western countries, but also in our hometown–why do you think that is?

Sarah: I thank the internet and the ever-growing vegan community for making resources on their platforms accessible. I find that more vegan recipes are being shared everywhere from Instagram to TikTok. Some notable people are Good Life Gan and Tabitha Brown. They make cooking plant-based meals look so easy, and they actually are!



Connie: I think because people now are more awake, so they want to save the environment, animals and planet.


Kenny: With the current pandemic and previous ones throughout history, we are seeing a repetitive pattern of where these virus outbreaks originated from. Most of them come from animals and this has led many people to start questioning our foods. People are scared of contracting viruses and I think this has led to the growing and trending of plant-based diets. On top of that, more research has been done and proven to why a plant-based diet is a healthier choice for you, the environment and animals. People generally want the best for themselves and I think that switching to a healthier lifestyle is a wise choice!


What’s the tastiest plant-based food you ever eaten?

Sarah: I can point out two life-changing plant-based foods I've had from the top of my head right now, one of them being the Teriyaki Mushroom Nourish Bowl from Pando Cafe and Korean glass noodle, known as japchae made by a good friend of mine. Those are the two meals that I would do anything to taste again.


Connie: Tofu scramble with tempeh!



Kenny: I am not really a picky eater, I eat just about anything. But one of the tastiest plant-based foods I've tasted are of my own creation–Vegan Bak Kut Teh with Pumpkin Noodles. I managed to veganize one of my favorite non plant-based foods that I used to love to eat. That made me happy! Who says you can't enjoy the foods you use to eat?


What’s your favorite dish by Pando Cafe?

Sarah: My absolute favorite from Pando Cafe's menu Teriyaki Mushroom Nourish Bowl. It's so good and it deserves to be mentioned twice! If you have extra room for more food, I highly recommend the Vegg Sourdough Toast too.





Connie: Almond Butter Tofu Bowl, very delicious, herby and savory! And the Shredded Mushroom Burger!


Kenny: I love the Mushroom Lover Pizza. This pizza looks simple but it is full of flavor and the cashew cheese on the pizza satisfies my cravings for cheese!


What would you recommend to other young people interested in starting their plant-based journey?

Sarah: If you're looking to start your plant-based journey, always remember to go at your own pace. The last thing you want is to burnout at the beginning of your transition and end up resenting the process and even the mere thought of it. It's always alright to make mistakes, but it's important to acknowledge and learn from it, forgive yourself and move on. Don't give up just yet. You can do it!


Connie: Be nice to yourself. A small step is still making a step forward to a happier tummy!


Kenny: It is always important that you go plant-based on your own accord, you will need to be mentally prepared to make the switch and stick with the regiment. Your first month can be a bit challenging but you'll eventually get used to it. Keep an open mind and learn along the way and make sure you diversify your vegetable intake, eat your rainbows!


Adopting a plant-based diet is the best thing any individual can do for the animals, the planet and our health. What are you waiting for? Follow Sarah, Connie and Kenny on Instagram and TikTok to get recipe inspirations and other practical tips!

110 views0 comments
bottom of page