top of page

Resilience, Self-Care and Korean Cuisine: Good Life With Gan



Many of you have met Gan during her tenancy at Pando Cafe between 2018-19. As a vegan herself, Gan has been working diligently for the last couple of years setting up what Pando Cafe is today to demonstrate that a plant-based diet is a way toward a vibrant and healthy life.


Gan is now back in Kuala Lumpur to be closer with her family and friends, and has been creating content online to share her daily cooking and baking adventures to a wider audience. Her sister, Shan often makes a cameo in her videos and according to Gan, “…Shan is a good food taster because she tells me if it’s good, or bad,”


As a Korean drama lover, Gan recently veganized a dish featured in Itaewon Class, Soondubu Jigae and has kindly shared the recipe with everyone. Learn how to make it yourself here, and if you post photos and videos on social media, please remember to tag Gan and us. We’d love to see your delicious creations.


How did you first learn about veganism and how long has it been since you embraced the lifestyle?

I learned about veganism roughly three years ago. I was diagnosed with hormonal imbalance and ovarian cyst. I did a lot of research about diet because I was on an animal protein based diet, I wondered if that was what making me sick. Later on, I found out more about plant-based diet and its benefits to the female hormones and decided to give it a try. Since then, I have never looked back. My hormones have recovered, I can see my low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol has dropped, my digestion function has improved, and my overall mental well-being is better.


What is your philosophy on veganism?

Veganism is to believe that animals are not for humans to consume and exploit. It’s a belief and practice of compassion towards animals.


What have you found most difficult about the lifestyle, and how do you overcome it?

Living with non-vegan family members and hanging out with non-vegan friends can be hectic. Especially when they don’t understand the cause. I am blessed because most of them respect my choice. However, some of them don’t, so sometimes I am ridiculed at the dining table. I realize arguing will not help, it only makes them defensive and hurt myself. I think it’s important to educate yourself so you know how to answer their questions, especially when they are really interested to learn about veganism. It also helps you to stand firm on your choice because you truly understand what you’re practicing. Secondly, persistence is the key, Sometimes I have to just ignore them and keep doing what I am doing. Slowly but surely, people around you will begin to respect your choice.



Do you feel like there has been a shift in people’s perceptions of veganism recently where you are based? And what do you think the future holds for veganism?

Definitely yes! There are more and more vegan businesses nowadays in Kuala Lumpur. Even non-vegan places started to provide vegan options because the demand is increasing. The vegan community is slowly growing and there are vegan fairs, meet-ups, and activism events happening in Kuala Lumpur more frequently than ever. I hope veganism will continue to grow here and slowly influence other states in Malaysia.


How has your purchasing habits changed since embracing veganism? What are some of your favourite vegan brands or alternatives that are “accidentally” vegan?

I became extra conscious when it comes to grocery shopping. I check every ingredient carefully. I am not a big fan of vegan alternatives like mock meat but I like Nutellex vegan butter very much! It makes vegan baking so much easier! I also became more aware of the packaging so I began to buy from bulk stores as much as I could.



You have been creating content consistently on YouTube and Instagram lately, sharing some of your favorite recipes and a glimpse of your life. What are your favorite recipes that you’ve made so far and why?

My favourite recipe recently… would be the cake recipe I have learned from Melinda Soon, who is a vegan baking instructor. Her sponge cake recipe is epicly spongy even without egg and her frosting recipe is incredibly delicious. I have been making it quite often and my family loves it. They keep asking me to make more.


What is your personal recipe that you’ve created that you are most proud of? Take us through the process of creating the recipe and what have you learned from the experience?

I haven’t really created any original recipe, instead, I like to refer to the non-vegan version of a recipe and veganize it. I am so into veganizing Korean food recently. My favourite recipes are Soon-dubu jjigae and Doenjjang jjigae. I was a huge K-Pop fan so I love Korean food. However, I hardly found any vegan Korean food because they are usually meat based. I am glad that I can make them myself and they taste, if not as good, then better than the non-vegan version. The trick is to make a very good stock with plant-based ingredients to replace anchovies, such as kombu, wakame, soy sauce, vegetarian oyster sauce and miso. It was a fun experiment, I enjoyed it a lot. The best thing is that even my non-vegan family members love them!



Does your weekly meal plan change when you’re busy at work or with other creative projects, and how is it different when you’re taking time off from everything?

To be honest, I don’t have a proper meal plan. Sometimes it depends on what recipe I want to try or shoot, sometimes it depends on what my family wants to eat. I seldom cook my lunch when I was working, so I would bring my own container to take away vegan mixed rice or “thunder tea rice” (擂茶)from the hawker stalls nearby.


You’ve spoken in the past about your personal experience with body image and the media’s obsession with women’s looks. Has veganism made you more accepting of yourself?

Yes, I find myself happier after becoming a vegan. I believe it is because I stopped consuming the suffering and pains from dead animals, my body is taking in much less negative energy.


I didn’t realize it, but when I became more mindful of my eating habits and what I am eating, it has changed my perspective about food and body;


  1. When I started eating a vegan diet, my attention shifted and I am more aware of the ethical issues and sustainability of my meals instead of the calories or whether it will make me fat.

  2. As I practice mindfulness when choosing what to consume, I started to become more aware of my physical and mental well being. I realized how my restrictive diet has damaged my health.

  3. I understand how society has programmed us to think in a way that will benefit certain parties. I realized that “perfect body figure” is just a myth and a marketing tool for fitness and beauty business just like “meat or milk is good for you” is just a lie that the animal industry use to increase their sales.

  4. Veganism is a practice of compassion. The more I practice compassion to animals, it also extends to the people around me, as well as myself. I am able to love myself more and be compassionate to myself. I realized that I no longer punish myself for eating more or being overwhelmed by the idea that I am not good enough.

Eventually, I am freed from guilt and was able to enjoy my meal with a grateful heart and peace.


What advice would you give to someone who is new in their plant-based journey?

Educate yourself by reading books and watching documentaries about veganism. That will help you to make a better connection to the issue. Explore vegan food, try new recipes. Delicious food is a big motivation for you to sustain a vegan lifestyle. Eat a balanced vegan diet. Don’t follow a fad diet but plan your meal according to your dietary needs. Look for vegan supplements if you need them and remember to consult with your doctor.


What exciting projects do you have planned for the future?

Currently I am working on creating better content on YouTube, sharing about vegan lifestyle and to normalize vegan living in Malaysia. I am still experimenting with different content and observing how people respond. Other than that, I am working on my vegan baking skills and recipes. In the near future, I hope I can conduct classes or workshops. I believe food is a good instrument to spread veganism.


Subscribe to Good Life With Gan on Instagram, Facebook and YouTube for more delicious veganized Korean and desserts recipes.

74 views0 comments
bottom of page